Important Dates

October 1, 2017
Deadline for abstract submission

Late November 2017
Notification of Abstract Acceptance

Early 2018
Extended Abstract Submission Opens

March 1, 2018
Extended Abstract Submission Deadline

April 1, 2018
End of Early Registration

June 4-7, 2018
Conference Dates

Home > Keynote and Invited Speakers

Keynote and Invited Speakers

Marcelo Garcia
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Professor Garcia is a leader in the field of river mechanics, sediment transport, sedimentation engineering and environmental hydraulics. He is best known for his research in sediment entrainment from riverbeds, flow and transport in vegetated channels, the mechanics of oceanic turbidity currents, and the dynamics of mudflows in mountain areas.

Peter DaviesPeter Davies
University of Dundee

Professor Davies is Professor of Fluid Dynamics at the University of Dundee and the Director of the National Telford Institute. He is well-known for his work in Environmental Fluids, including buoyancy-driven flows; rotating flows; turbulent mixing; internal waves; and wastewater disposal.

Joseph Lee

Joseph Lee
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Lee's research revolves around the use of hydraulics to solve environmental problems, in particular the prediction and control of water quality. His work has been published in over 150 theoretical, laboratory and field experimental papers in the leading peer-reviewed journals, with 3218 Google Scholar citations. Over the past two decades, he has served as expert advisor to the Hong Kong Government and as international consultant on many hydro-environmental projects including the Sydney Ocean Outfall Post-operation Monitoring Study, Hong Kong Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS), Yuen Long Bypass Floodway, Deep Bay Water Quality Regional Control Strategy Study, Hong Kong Island West Drainage Tunnel Vortex Intake Study, and the Tai Hang Tung Storage Scheme that won the Innovation Award for Construction Industry of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (2002).

Additional Speakers are being confirmed